What has been happening Chris?

Flying out on the 21st of July to Italy is what is happening!

I have been fairly pre-occupied with racing and training as well as planning my trip and finalising dates for my overseas trip!

From the 22nd of July to the 17th of August I will be in Italy training with a friend of mine in Turin, then we will head up to Feltre for a final week. We will be close to the Italian alps and MTBO maps as well as some nice single track, if we can find it. I can already feel this trip is going to be great experience.

I will be in Estonia, Tallinn from the 18th of August to the end of August where I will be training with the Australian Mountain Bike Orienteering Team and competing in my first World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships. Since I have turned 21 this year I am not eligible for the Junior World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships.

So from the 1st of September I get to travel/holiday with my bike for 30 days – tricky. What I have whittled my options and interests down to is taking a ferry to Finland, Helsinki for a few days before flying to Germany, Berlin. I’ll spend  a few days in Berlin doing some touristy things as well as trying to find some cool trails to ride on. I hope there are some club XC races happening that I could attend while I am there.

After Berlin I will be jumping on a train to the Netherlands and down to Belgium for a week or so. I want to try and do a bit of riding here and exploring. Then I will head up to Amsterdam for a bit then off too Czech to stay with some friends and do more riding.

This should bring me up to the 28th where I have to make my way to Austria to be there on the 29th to start my German Language course. I have wanted to do something like this for awhile because of all the competitors who come from other countries and have learned English to communicate with other people, makes me feel selfish. So I am putting myself through a four week German beginner course and I hope I learn enough to talk to some people in German.

After mastering German in four weeks (haha I wish) I fly down to France, Nice to meet up with my parents and I will spend a couple of weeks there, then heading home. I think the trip will roughly take me about four months. My bank account is going to be feeling fairly empty by the end of this.

While I am over there I hope to blog a lot more and write a race report for each day of the World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships.

Leave a Reply

