Dead Leg Reps

That hurt.

Wednesday was going to be a hard session day. Either a long and solid ride or short and intense session. I opted for short and intense session seeing as I have done almost no intervals for many weeks and I have been doing a lot of tempo climbing and tempo long rides.

It was a hot day, like they all are here. Minimum temperatures of 30 degrees celsius. From about 6:30 to 12:00 it was a do nothing and watch DVD’s type of day. Until I rustled up some bread, ham and some cheese. The bread you could break granite with. After chipping my way through my sandwiches it was ride time. I just got into the “I might as well do it now rather than later” attitude. So clever me went out and did 1min hill repitions on the hill we are living on, in the heat of the day.

I always do a minimum of 20min warm up and warm down for intervals. So I rolled down to the creak feeling rather flat and not that revved up to do hard efforts.

I swear doing these hill reps almost killed me. The heat baring down on me and the glare of the sun was hurting my eyes and giving me a throbbing head ache. My legs did get up and go when I asked them to but every rep just got harder and the legs just got heavier. It was if my legs were a cup and water was lactic acid, it felt as if the water was just over flowing the cup.

By 5 reps I had dropped a couple of meters of where I reached the previous rep. Which was a bit of a blow mentally. But I kept at it.

Finally finishing off my last rep as my legs exploded into a million bits. (not really) I rolled up the rest of the hill in my easiest gear and went for my warm down.

The warm down I decided to explore some back roads. This was fun. I went into a shaded cobbled path behind a church, down a very steep hill and out along this narrow road which is probably a better than any smooth road in Australia that i have ever ridden on.

When the road started to descend even more I decided it was time to roll back the other way. Finally reaching home again I sat at the door to wait for the others to arrive back from their training. I am so glad it was shady at the door. Also the local cat kept me some company.

Some days can be hard and your legs can feel flat, but doing these sessions on this type of day when you’re not feeling in the mood just closes that gap of how well you will perform when you do feel like this, to how well you would perform when you are feeling at your best. So you will have more constant high level performance.

One comment

Leave a Reply

