Stormy Weather

Since the Pinorolo ride it has been a fairly relaxed few days of training. It has also been difficult to train due to some circumstances restricting me to train.

Sunday I paid Mont Blanc a visit. Very beautiful and stunning mountains. It was unreal how high they went and the sheer cliffs that loomed over the valley road. You get a sore neck just from looking up all the time to soak in the beauty. But my visit was short lived and we had to drive back to collect people from the train station and sit in the humid town of Mazze’.

I am still staying with Liz Randall who is competing in the World Masters events for road cycling. (She is doing very well, winning her age group in the Crit and the TT) She needs the car to get into the events to race, understandably. So that means all of my rides have to be from where we are staying. Meaning a lot of road riding. Flat road riding. Boring road riding. I brought my MTB over to ride trails, but I have done one ride in two weeks on dirt and it was just a fire road climb. A very nice ride and I enjoyed it immensely. I just feel like I am not getting the most out of my mountain bike.

The days are hot and the weather forecast has been for rain and thunder storms. Which has only been increasing the humidity and making the sky very hazy. It has only been storming a little bit at nights. Nothing that local to us.

Getting to sleep has been extremely difficult. The town has a loud bell which is right next to us and bongs every hour and half hour. When its 12.30am you can hear constant bell ringing after it has stopped. The house has loud wooden floors that makes it sound like an elephant is walking through the upstairs living room. I am lucky to get to sleep before 11pm.

On Wednesday Alex and I put in a solid ride because it was forecasted that there was definitely going to be rain the following day. So we went out and did a solid 80km ride out to Biella and back. My legs felt fairly tired after some solid riding into the wind and then another solid return effort.

Each day I find out something that I enjoy about Europe, and that day I found some more things I like about Europe. The amount of lovely little villages you pass through whilst out on a ride. The villages break up the some of the boring country view and also provide you with shops and water springs if you need food or water. Back in Australia you need to almost have a small bike trailer if you want to do any serious long rides or know where all the “secret” water spots are hope you ride past a petrol station.

On Saturday we head up to Feltre which will be nice. Surrounded by mountains and hopefully surrounded by MTB trails.

Leave a Reply

