WMTBOC Middle Distance

Another race done and dusted. Sad to report that I didn’t have a great day out there though. I was fairly smooth through all the controls up until checkpoint 13 when I started to run out of puff and my navigation took a steep downward drop.

I had a small error coming into checkpoint 8 and I had to run through the bush from the track adjacent to the one I needed to be on. The course got incredibly physical and technical once we crossed the road for the second time. The tracks were very good ride ability for most of the race and the courses were set excellently.

I had trouble breathing while riding up the hills and my navigation dropped off steeply after checkpoint 11. I had to stop because I forgot what track I was taking and I did a few too many wrong turns. Sure I was annoyed at my current performances but it gives me something to work on for the future. I ended up somewhere in the bottom half of the results. Disappointed and a little down yes but I enjoyed the course and its great talking to the other riders after and seeing what they did.

I will not be racing the long distance on Saturday. I haven’t performed like my usual self and I agree with their decision. The relay team will be Alex, Callum and my self. I will be shooting off first because I am a good starter.

We have a rest day tomorrow then the relays on Friday.

M21
One comment

Leave a Reply

